John McCain: ‘I love being the underdog’

(CNN) — Sen. John McCain said Sunday he’s “very happy” with the way his campaign is going, despite his “underdog” status in the polls.

“We’re going to be in a tight race and we’re going to be up late on election night. That’s just — I’m confident of that. I’ve been in too many campaigns, my friend, not to sense that things are headed our way,” McCain said Sunday on Fox News.

Sen. Barack Obama leads McCain by 6 points, according to CNN’s latest average of national polls.

“I love being the underdog. You know, every time that I’ve gotten ahead, somehow I’ve messed it up,” the Republican candidate said.

Sen. John McCain says that "every time that I've gotten ahead, somehow I've messed it up." 
Above: Sen. John McCain says that “every time that I’ve gotten ahead, somehow I’ve messed it up.”

Asked if Gov. Sarah Palin has become a drag on his ticket, McCain said, “As a cold political calculation, I could not be more pleased.”

“She has excited and energized our base. She is a direct counterpoint to the liberal feminist agenda for America. She has a wonderful family. She’s a reformer. She’s a conservative. She’s the best thing that could have happened to my campaign and to America,” he said.

In this photo provided by FOX News, Republican presidential ... 
In this photo provided by FOX News, Republican presidential candidate, Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., appears on ‘Fox News Sunday’ in Columbus, Ohio, Sunday, Oct. 19, 2008. Asked whether Colin Powell’s endorsement of Democratic presidential rival Barack Obama undercut McCain’s stance that Obama is not ready to lead, McCain said of Powell: ‘We have a respectful disagreement.’ ‘I’ve always admired and respected Gen. Powell,’ McCain said before noting his endorsement by four other former secretaries of state.(AP Photo/FOX News Sunday, Gary Gardiner)

In response to a question from Fox’s Chris Wallace, McCain said he has considered the possibility that he could lose, but added, “I don’t dwell on it.”

Read the rest:
http://www.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/10/19/
campaign.wrap/index.html

Leave a Reply

